Kansas City
In 2026, the Kings went 62-100, sending owner R.J Hudson into a deep depression (mood =
). The City of Kansas was also not happy, with only barely over a million customers seeing the Kings all season, the worst total in KC/Indy/Team history. No one could blame them, the Kings overall hit .252 and gave up an ERA of 4.95 with almost zero star power.
In 2027, the Kings went 90-72, sending owner R.J Hudson to his happy place (mood =
). The City of Kansas was overjoyed, with over 2.3 million customers swarming the Throne Room to see the young stars like Chris Chandler, Antonio De La Cruz and Douglas Taylor with mainstay and KC Hero Toshimici Kono. The Kings overall hit .269 with an ERA of 4.26 with a gigantic horseshoe stuck up their ass (+6 win differential). All this on an approx 30 million dollar payroll (24.7 mil in salaries at the end of the year).
Think of it this way, you could have Houston's Juan Gomez ($31 mil) or the entire KCK roster. Not to pick on Gomez, he's incredibly consistent and productive, just providing context.
KCK was agonizingly close to the newly created (by me) Economic Triple Crown, with a league leading Payroll/Win and WAR/Win. Unfortunately, I wasn't super efficient with runs scored/allowed- as evidenced by the +6 win differential over the pythg. W/L. But it got me thinking, who was the best economist of all time in the BSA...
As I do, I created a dataset and went to Excel!! Was the 2027 version of KCK the most efficient in history??
In order of excellence:
Ah! So close, 4th best. It looks like we have some massive extremes, the top 10 most efficient teams were either when the league was still a baby, or the past two years. So shout outs to Birmingham, Madison and Plymouth for your amazing performance recently. Plus Birmingham is basically tied with me, and I'm "basically" tied with 2011 Boston, for 3rd place.
Irvine, you glorious bastard, in 2010 you paid a measly $289,557 per win! And 2010 Madison, you barely paid more, and won 92 games!! That's INCREDIBLE.
Graphically, with team colors:
Black dotted line = Efficiency
Bar length = Wins
2010 and 2011 Madison were crazy! That's some seriously great work, and consistancy. Meanwhile, 2011 Greenville looks to be the most successful "top ten efficient" team in BSA history.
However, shame on Madison 2027 edition for gaming my arbitrarily constructed system and just having a super super low payroll!
KCK's secret? Simple really, just get your 2B (Chris Chandler - 4.5 WAR) to put up his best season ever on the tail end of his $1,000,000/year contract. Also, have rookies do good. You know, complicated stuff.
Anyway, I expect a sharp and painful reversion next year. Not only are my two arib. eligible pitchers getting big raises, but I expect I won't be nearly as lucky to have 6 wins more than I "should".
Let me leave you with some final words of wisdom I learned from a young man named Jason...
"I drive an Audi when I'm bored with my Porsche"
hold on, that's not it...
"Chase will never win a BSA Championship"
Dammit, not the quote I was looking for either...
"Money is king in BSA"
There it is! One season does not make KCK wealthy, but it's a start!
No comments:
Post a Comment